<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Now THIS Might Be a RANT</title>
	<atom:link href="http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/</link>
	<description>Straight Talk for the Recruiting Profession</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 11 Feb 2012 10:59:00 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.2.1</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: James Chandler</title>
		<link>http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/comment-page-1/#comment-5126</link>
		<dc:creator>James Chandler</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sun, 29 Nov 2009 06:26:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.fordyceletter.com/?p=508#comment-5126</guid>
		<description>This is an ongoing battle. They fix one person&#039;s problem to prevent bad press, but their spam business model remains the same. 

We have been receiving similar emails, all with a non-working , non-existent unsubscribe link, directed to recruiterlife. This all has been received at one of our private company email address which had to be phished or hacked in order to be obtained. 

Spammer identifies himself as Tom Smith, tomsmithcci (using a gmail account). He gives a link to Continental Consultants, which goes to his profile page on &quot;Recruiter Earth&quot;. He claims to be affilliated with NPA worldwide. All email identifiers, IP address, and unsubscribe footer identify as RecruiterLife. He requests replies go to both a gmail account and sc.rr account (both verified to be in his RecruiterEarth profile). 

This is outright spam, and a scam to increase hits (and thus the value) to the recruiterlife website. 

No reason to identify our company info here, because it recruiterlife truly intended to fix the problem and was a legit business, the unsubscribe link would work, they wouldn&#039;t resort to stealing addresses, they wouldn&#039;t be using separate private email addresses for replies, and they wouldn&#039;t be using disclaimers claiming their spam isn&#039;t spam.

We also are saving these spam emails, along with source code of their servers to prove they are non-compliant, and have opened a case with the FTC regarding the issue. We were directed by the FTC to fax a copy of our data to the FBI as well.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This is an ongoing battle. They fix one person&#8217;s problem to prevent bad press, but their spam business model remains the same. </p>
<p>We have been receiving similar emails, all with a non-working , non-existent unsubscribe link, directed to recruiterlife. This all has been received at one of our private company email address which had to be phished or hacked in order to be obtained. </p>
<p>Spammer identifies himself as Tom Smith, tomsmithcci (using a gmail account). He gives a link to Continental Consultants, which goes to his profile page on &#8220;Recruiter Earth&#8221;. He claims to be affilliated with NPA worldwide. All email identifiers, IP address, and unsubscribe footer identify as RecruiterLife. He requests replies go to both a gmail account and sc.rr account (both verified to be in his RecruiterEarth profile). </p>
<p>This is outright spam, and a scam to increase hits (and thus the value) to the recruiterlife website. </p>
<p>No reason to identify our company info here, because it recruiterlife truly intended to fix the problem and was a legit business, the unsubscribe link would work, they wouldn&#8217;t resort to stealing addresses, they wouldn&#8217;t be using separate private email addresses for replies, and they wouldn&#8217;t be using disclaimers claiming their spam isn&#8217;t spam.</p>
<p>We also are saving these spam emails, along with source code of their servers to prove they are non-compliant, and have opened a case with the FTC regarding the issue. We were directed by the FTC to fax a copy of our data to the FBI as well.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Jim Shaki</title>
		<link>http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/comment-page-1/#comment-829</link>
		<dc:creator>Jim Shaki</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 18:39:37 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.fordyceletter.com/?p=508#comment-829</guid>
		<description>Let me preface this comment by letting everyone know that Zoominfo is not to be blamed here. They simply hired us to market their products. 

Over the past 2 years, I&#039;ve been trying diligently to clean up our mailing lists. Much to my chagrin, I have run into a series of unethical programmers, both in-house and via contract work. Rather than ranting on about it, I  sincerely apologize to all that have had a bad experience.

Dave, thanks for taking my call.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Let me preface this comment by letting everyone know that Zoominfo is not to be blamed here. They simply hired us to market their products. </p>
<p>Over the past 2 years, I&#8217;ve been trying diligently to clean up our mailing lists. Much to my chagrin, I have run into a series of unethical programmers, both in-house and via contract work. Rather than ranting on about it, I  sincerely apologize to all that have had a bad experience.</p>
<p>Dave, thanks for taking my call.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Dave Staats</title>
		<link>http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/comment-page-1/#comment-828</link>
		<dc:creator>Dave Staats</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 18:29:45 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.fordyceletter.com/?p=508#comment-828</guid>
		<description>I&#039;ll call of the dogs (and attorneys) for now. Jim Shaki called and said he believed the 9 instances of my email address he personally removed might actually do the trick this time. I said that if it does it&#039;ll certainly be good for both of us.
If YOU need to email people try Constant Contact. I know from experience that their email opt-out system works.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ll call of the dogs (and attorneys) for now. Jim Shaki called and said he believed the 9 instances of my email address he personally removed might actually do the trick this time. I said that if it does it&#8217;ll certainly be good for both of us.<br />
If YOU need to email people try Constant Contact. I know from experience that their email opt-out system works.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Dave Staats</title>
		<link>http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/comment-page-1/#comment-827</link>
		<dc:creator>Dave Staats</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 10 Jul 2008 12:09:44 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.fordyceletter.com/?p=508#comment-827</guid>
		<description>Barrett: This is good news. It was hard to tell what the relationship was. I think I have explained to &#039;real&#039; ZoomInfo people in the past that I just am not a good prospect and that seemed to be accepted ok. This email thing has just been relentless. If it does indeed stop I&#039;ll be quite happy to narrow the focus of my rant.
Thanks for the message and for finding a way to make sure I got it.

Sincerely,Dave.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Barrett: This is good news. It was hard to tell what the relationship was. I think I have explained to &#8216;real&#8217; ZoomInfo people in the past that I just am not a good prospect and that seemed to be accepted ok. This email thing has just been relentless. If it does indeed stop I&#8217;ll be quite happy to narrow the focus of my rant.<br />
Thanks for the message and for finding a way to make sure I got it.</p>
<p>Sincerely,Dave.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Barrett Coakley</title>
		<link>http://www.fordyceletter.com/2008/07/09/now-this-might-be-a-rant/comment-page-1/#comment-824</link>
		<dc:creator>Barrett Coakley</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 09 Jul 2008 22:06:23 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.fordyceletter.com/?p=508#comment-824</guid>
		<description>Hi Dave,

I work at ZoomInfo and just wanted to follow up on my email. Recruiter Life is a 3rd party vendor we contracted with to send out emails on our behalf. As I said in my email, it looks like they are not following the correct procedures on their end. I am looking into this and will resolve the problem for you.
Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
Barrett Coakley</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Hi Dave,</p>
<p>I work at ZoomInfo and just wanted to follow up on my email. Recruiter Life is a 3rd party vendor we contracted with to send out emails on our behalf. As I said in my email, it looks like they are not following the correct procedures on their end. I am looking into this and will resolve the problem for you.<br />
Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and feel free to contact me directly.</p>
<p>Regards,<br />
Barrett Coakley</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

